Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Culture

+2
aldo russian
Lee Harradine
6 posters

:: FORUM :: BLOODS FORUM

Go down

Culture Empty Culture

Post by Lee Harradine Tue Oct 13, 2020 9:30 am

These comments relate specifically to Essendon, but really are applicable to all football clubs:

I was a trainer and masseur at Essendon Football Club from the end of 1989 to the end of 2019, yes 30 years. I’m a life member and I’m now embarrassed with the direction our once great club is headed.
Make no mistake, as has been said, it ALL has to do with culture.

It’s been completely destroyed over the last 10 - 12 years. There is no culture inside the club now. If the players are asked to play for the guernsey, what does that mean to them or the staff for that matter? When they are all so new that they don’t even understand that there even needs to be a culture.

It has to be passed from generation to generation, staff member to staff member, player to player. It’s also carried over by staff that are entrenched within the club to the players and even new coaching staff. It’s not a course or a workshop, it’s done over time with absolute passion for the club.

Senior management saw fit to weed out ALL of the long term staff over the last 10 years. Even long term trainers (20 years service) having to do Leading Teams around the board table one Saturday morning. Suffice to say after a couple of hours with us they didn’t bother continuing with that. Lol
They are now all gone. The players who originally would bleed for the jumper are gone. Which = culture eradicated.

Business people can only take a club so far, and definitely play a huge part but without great people under them, that are happy to basically work for free, what do you have left.

A business that for a while makes a profit and looks good on paper, but no real club atmosphere.